top of page

Monster Hunter World: Scout Flies


Only a few more days, and then the official monster hunter release and I am beyond thrilled for this. I had so much fun with all the betas. I want to know if anyone reading this actually beat Nergigante? Solo or online, I got him pretty low on Solo, but online I couldn't take him with me and another friend. I'm hoping to play more online and see if a full party can do it. I have to say, he's a lot of fun to face, can't wait to take him on in the full game.

I'm hoping to write a quick post about the game after it drops, just kinda a first initial review while I work on the official detailed analysis for the full game. Then, we can finally talk about something else. Honestly, I want to do this blog way more. I have enough stupid stuff to release something almost every day, but I know no one would read that much of my nonsense.

So, today I want to talk about something I loved when I first saw, when I started playing I didn't care for, and now I'm unsure about it. That is the Scout Flies. Once again, you might want to at least read part 1 of this series to understand some of the stuff I'm talking about. But I'm linking all three at the bottom.

So, this is going to be short, because I don't really have much to say, as well as I feel like I could play for 100 hours and still feel conflicted about how the scout flies work. Today we are focusing on phase 2 of monster hunter, Tracking the Monster.

When I first saw them, I really liked the idea. For those who don't know, normally in Monster Hunter, you wandered around the map till you found the monster, hit it with a paintball, fight it till it runs, then follow the pink dot on your map till you kill it. If you forgot the paint or it wore off, then you were running around blind till you killed it. And that’s wasting a lot of time.

In the Monster Hunter World, Scout flies act as a tracking mechanism as well as highlighting important items. You run around the map, picking up footprints, gashes in trees, bite marks in dead herbivores. Eventually, you'll have enough and the files will direct you towards the monster. This cuts down a lot of guesswork that monster hunter kinda has. Plus, with the maps being much more confusing, it really works out.

What I don't like is that once you fill your little scouting meter, you will know where the monster is at all times. Its less re-finding, and more just going back. One thing I really enjoy about monster hunter is that it isn't just you taking on the beast in one hour, but you tracking it down, battling it through all types of terrains and eventually killing it.

Now, I have to say, the game isn't out yet, the battles we have been doing are only 20 minutes and our demo weapons and items give us some advantages too. Only when I play the game will we fully understand how the flies work and to what extent.

Now, one thing I hope to see is the meter going down. Having to find more tracks to keep it up, and maybe even some monsters that can do things the completely hide and drop the meter again. I don't know if other people want that, but I think it's cool. Just another interesting layer of realism. But I also want underwater hunts to return, and I know that probably will never happen.

Anyways, these have been fun. I'm a little sad I can't do a Monster Hunter Blog every week. I'd love that, but I also want to talk about several other things. There is always something random on my mind for sure. Drop a comment to me!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page