top of page

Monster Hunter World: Slinger


Alright, back into Monster Hunter. I have to say, this blog series has been so much fun. I get to play my favorite video game and then talk about it. Hopefully, someone will get something out of this, if not. It's just more content on my website. So, I guess that's nice.

If you haven't read the first blog post in this series, you might want to do so. At least my brief description of what Monster Hunter is, even if you've played the game, it helps to see what I think is important vs what isn't. Here is a link.

What I want to jump into today is a quick mechanic that both revolutionizes the game, and completely un-affects it at the same time. That is the Slinger. I think the website gives the best description of the tool, so I'll let it explain:

"The Slinger is an indispensable tool for a hunter, allowing you to arm yourself with stones and nuts that can be gathered from each locale. From diversion tactics to creating shortcuts, the Slinger has a variety of uses, and allows you to hunt in new and interesting ways."

— Official Monster Hunter World Website

The slinger is attached to the right arm

What I love about the slinger is, what it does and doesn't do. It helps you move around the map faster with the grappling hook. Moving up walls or swinging over ledges. It helps set off traps, both environmental or player set. It can be shot at the monster to grab its attention or shot somewhere else to distract the monster. You can use it to get monsters to fight each other. You can use it to do status effects on monsters. It does a lot!

Yet what it doesn't do is more important to me. It doesn't assist in combat. You can use it to do status damage to the monster, but not any real damage, because that's what your weapon is for. It can assist, but it doesn't take over. It doesn't find the monster for you, it can get you around faster but doesn't teleport you instantly. It adds so much, but it doesn't take away from the core gameplay.

I think this is super important for game design. Sometimes we get so caught up in the 'what mechanic would be fun' or 'what mechanic would be cool' that games forget to ask 'what mechanic will assist the core of the game.' This is super important, sure adding in fun side quests and random treasure hunts can help keep the gameplay feel varied. Yet at some point, you lose track of just what the game is supposed to do.

Gotta love those new environmental traps

The last thing I love about the Slinger is, it also uses things that the game already had. Bug nets, throwing knives, 'dung bombs' all these were multiple items. Now, it's all in one area, streamlining multiple things. And with Monster Hunter, where every second count, this could be the difference between life and death.

I feel that a lot of games have multiple ways to do the 'same thing' sure it's variety, but most of the time it's contrived, forced just to say on the box 'play your own way.' When it's obvious what way you should play. Or what's worse is when it isn't obvious until after you play it in that specific way.

Now, one complaint about the Slinger; I do wish there was a better way to manipulate slinger ammo, so you could always bring some with you, or gather a rare item and save it. I don't know how they'd do it. But I had no idea how they would make such vast environments for this game either. (hint about next post)

Now, maybe there is some way to do this and I don't know how. Hopefully, I will discover it when the full game comes out January 26th* for PS4 and Xbox 1 or in the final beta coming on the 18th.

*I really want to make this look official so, boom release date.

I had a lot of fun digging into different stuff writing this if anyone has any complaints, questions or just wants to talk about Monster Hunter or Game Design, feel free to comment. I love discussing anything and everything with you guys. Seeya next week.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page